TEST Maximum level at the Arenal Training Camps Trophy - 420 Sailing

News Maximum level at the Arenal Training Camps Trophy

  • Photos

Maximum level at the Arenal Training Camps Trophy

Mar 2014

The Arenal Training Camps Trophy, the training international regatta for the Trofeo Princesa Sofia Mapfre which was held this weekend under the organization of the Club Nautico Arenal, has had the participation of up to 260 sailors from 18 countries, a figure impressive record in post-Olympic years. In addition, the race brought together Olympic champions who are beginning to work towards Rio 2016.

The Arenal Training Camps Trophy was characterized by light and medium winds, eight to ten knots. On Sunday the races could not be held due to lack of wind.


In the 470 W, at the top of the table are placed the Dutch Afrodite Anneloes Kyranakou and Van Veen, followed by British and Ellidh Weguelin Sophie Mcintyre. The Spanish Marina Gallego and Fatima Reyes have occupied the third drawer. The Match Race Olympic champion at London 2012 Angela Pumariega, now sailing in this class with Carmen Mateo, finished in eleventh place.


In the Laser Standard Spanish Jesús Rogel has taken the title of winner of the Arenal Training Camps Trophy after signing two first places, one second and two thirds. Second was the German Philipp Buhi and ranked third Polish Patryk Piasecki.


Spanish winners also in the 49er. Young Diego Botín and Paul Turrado have achieved the victory with a lead of ten points on the Polish Lukasz Przybytek and Pawel Kolodzinski. In third place was placed Olympic champion in Beijing 2008, the Danish Jonas Warrer, who sails now with Peter Lang.


In the 470 M, the Spanish Onan Barreiros and Juan Curbelo have finished second the Arenal Training Camps Trophy, just one point behind the winners, the British Luke Patience and Joe Glanfield. Third were the Argentines Lucas Calabrese and Juan de la Fuente.


Foreign rule in the new Olympic class 49er FX. The Danish Ida Marie Baad and Marie Thusgaard have been the winners, followed by the Italians Giulia Conti and Francesca Clapcich. Tenth have been the Match Race London 2012 Olympic champion Tamara Echegoyen and her new crew, Berta Betanzos, who could not race the first two races of the Arenal Training Camps Trophy.


In the Nacra 17, international teams have also dominated. First and second place for the Netherlands, with Mandy Mulder and Thijs Visser on top of the podium and Renee Groeneveld and Karel Begemann in the second drawer. The Austrians Sylvia Vogl and Thomas Czajka have been third.


In the Finn class, Frenchman Jonathan Lobert was the winner after winning by just one point over London 2012 silver, the Dutch JP Postma. Third was the Polish Piotr Kula.


The international Olympic teams continue to train these days in the waters of the Bay of Palma, in order to reach its highest level at Princesa Sofia Mapfre Trophy, to be held from March 30 to April 6.